Active filters :
Discard Filter
Education Endowment Fund

Providing funding to a variety of educational initiatives

The AusIMM Education Endowment Fund (EEF) provides funding to a variety of educational initiatives to attract and support those studying within the resources sector.

Successful recipients receive:

  • Significant financial support during the course of your studies
  • Access to quality mentoring with an industry professional
  • Participation in a one-week intensive field trip to a mineral-rich region of Australia
  • Recognition and career-building opportunities
  • Development of personal and professional skills

Do you have:

  • A passion for the resources sector?
  • Strong leadership qualities?
  • A proactive approach to personal and professional development?
Application form and guides

2021 EEF Scholarship Applications have closed

Undergraduate application form

Postgraduate application form

Undergraduate Scholarship Operational Guidelines 2021

Postgraduate Scholarship Operational Guidelines 2021

PhD Scholarship Winner – 2018

Ross Chandler SAusIMM

‘As a recipient of an AusIMM EEF Undergraduate Scholarship (2017), I know firsthand how beneficial receiving an EEF scholarship is. The marks I was able to achieve during my undergraduate studies are a direct reflection of the support I was given by AusIMM, which allowed me to fully immerse myself in my studies. I received the opportunity to go on the field trip to Kalgoorlie in 2017 with forging lasting friendships with other like-minded individuals across the country and I was generously given advice from professionals at various stages of their careers which was both inspirational and incredibly formative to someone at the beginning of their career in the resources industry.’

Also available - Thesis Prizes

The EFF awards the following prizes for the best final-year Honours thesis completed in geology, mining engineering or extractive metallurgy.

Ian Morley Thesis Prize

Awarded for the best final-year Honours thesis completed in Queensland in geology, mining engineering or extractive metallurgy. Closing date for nominations is 30 June each year.

Ian Morley was awarded the Imperial Service Order (ISO) after various appointments within the mining industries of Western Australia and Papua New Guinea. He joined the Queensland Department of Mines and rose to hold the position of State Mining Engineer (1940–1969). He was a Councillor for the AusIMM for many years and author of Black Sands, a history of beach sand mining on the east coast of Australia.

Reg Buckett Prize

Awarded to the students assessed to have presented the best final year project in the Bachelor of Engineering (Mining Engineering) and the Bachelor of Engineering (Metallurgical Engineering) courses at Curtin University of Technology. Winners receive an engraved trophy featuring the AusIMM logo at their graduation ceremony. Applications through Curtin University.


The EEF Trust Deed was formally created and signed on 22 February 1989. The purposes of the fund include the following:

  • fund research projects that may benefit the resources sector
  • provide scholarships bursaries and other awards to tertiary students undertaking undergraduate or postgraduate study or research in relation to minerals relevant disciplines or courses
  • fund and provide lectures to persons involved in the resources sector and students undertaking study in disciplines relating to the resources sector
  • provide funding to universities for the purposes of running classes, seminars and other activities designed to promote the awareness of and interest in the resources sector amongst secondary school students
  • provide funding to universities for the purpose of providing endowed professorships.

The EEF Board of Trustees

The EEF Board of Trustees consists of prominent members of AusIMM as well as industry representatives and the current AusIMM President. The Trustees meet twice a year to discuss the fund, its initiatives and what might be utilised in the future to ensure the attraction and retention of bright individuals into the resources sector.

The Board currently consists of the following:

Jared Osborne



Susie Corlett


Eduard Eshuys


Paul Espie


Bruce Hebblewhite


Sarah Wheeler


Janine Herzig


AusIMM President