Announcing the 2019 AusIMM Award winners

AusIMM Awards have been recognising contributions to the Institute and professional excellence in the resources industry for more than 80 years.

First awarded in 1935, AusIMM Awards celebrate outstanding contributions to best practice professionalism in the resources industry. The awards help to promote and raise the overall standard of professional practice and send a clear message to our Communities that we are committed to the highest standards of professional practice.

The AusIMM is proud to announce and congratulate the following winners of the 2019 AusIMM Awards. Read more information about our awards (including the different categories) here.

The 2019 AusIMM Awards will be presented in Melbourne as part of 2019 Congress.

Highest Honours

The Institute Medal

Dr Harry Parker FAusIMM(CP)

President’s Award

Chris Carr FAusIMM(CP)
Mike Spreadborough FAusIMM

Honorary Fellowship

Owen Hegarty FAusIMM
Rick West FAusIMM(CP)

Beryl Jacka Award

Dale Sims FAusIMM(CP)

Professional Excellence Awards

Aidan Giblett FAusIMM

Tania Laurencont MAusIMM

Dr William (Bill) J Whiten FAusIMM

Charles Marshall Award

Daniel Guibal FAusIMM(CP)

New Professional Award

Viv Naidu AAusIMM

G B O’Malley Medal

Frances Blake SAusIMM

Best Paper Prize

David Reid
‘Importance of the simple shear loading direction to the stability of tailings storage facilities’
Presented at the AusIMM Mine Waste and Tailings Stewardship Conference 2018.

Institute or Minerals Sector Service Awards

Ron Cairns MAusIMM

Kate Hobbs MAusIMM

Keith Yates FAusIMM



Related News


AusIMM announces partnership with Howden Engineering

The Australasian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy (AusIMM) announced a new partnership with Howden Engineering to bring leading mine v...


Women in Resources Awards call for nominations – Victoria and Tasmania

Nominations are now open for Women in Resources Awards in both Victoria and Tasmania


2019 Education Endowment Fund scholarship winners announced

AusIMM is pleased to announce that Max Donaldson has been awarded the 2019 Sir Frank Espie/Rio Tinto Leadership award.