Active filters :
Discard Filter
News

North QLD Branch – Digital Tech Talk: Implementation of Queensland’s Progressive Rehabilitation and Closure Plan Legislation

The Queensland Government has amended the Environmental Protection Act 1994 to require mining companies to plan for, and undertake, progressive rehabilitation.

Date: Tuesday 20th October 2020

Time: 3:00pm – 4:00pm AEST

3.30pm – 4:30pm ACDT

4:00pm – 5:00pm AEDT

1:00pm – 2:00pm AWST

Digital Tech Talk: Online

Presenter: Chris Wake, Manager Environmental Services (PRCP), Department of Environment and Science

Cost: 

AusIMM Member – Free

Non Member – $20.00

Register Now

Please note: Registrants who cannot join the webinar at the scheduled time will receive a link to the recording to watch at a later time convenient to them.

Talk Overview

The regulatory tool used to implement these requirements is the Progressive Rehabilitation and Closure Plan (PRC plan). During this webinar, Chris will be providing an overview of the PRC Plan requirements and explaining some of the key concepts that have been introduced as part of this new addition to the regulatory framework for mining in Queensland. An important part of the new requirements are the transitional arrangements that apply to current site-specific coal and mineral mines. Chris will be providing an update on how the transition is progressing as well as highlighting some lessons learned from the process so far.

About the Speaker

Chris Wake is a manager within the Environmental Services division of the Queensland Government Department of Environment and Science. Chris has a background in environmental science and more than 10 years’ experience working as an environmental regulator in Queensland. Chris currently oversees a multi-disciplinary team of environmental professionals, with responsibility for implementing the Progressive Rehabilitating and Closure Planning requirements under the Environmental Protection Act 1994.

Related News

03.10.20

Reminder: North QLD Branch - October Monthly Social Luncheon

Join the North Queensland Branch for an informal get together on Sunday 11th of October.

01.10.20

North QLD Branch - Digital Tech Talk: Implementation of Queensland’s Progressive Rehabilitation and Closure Plan Legislation

The Queensland Government has amended the Environmental Protec...

25.09.20

North Queensland Branch - Digital Tech Talk - Pumped Storage Hydro & Large-Scale Battery Storage in Queensland

Participants will gain an insight into the topic of pumped storage hydro and l...