Active filters :
Discard Filter
News

South West WA Branch/Metallurgical Society – December Digital Technical Masterclass – Commissioning Doesn’t Start When the Plant is Built

The presentation will provide case study examples on what can happen and how to plan to avoid the unexpected. The presentation will take 90 minutes with up to 30 minutes of Live Online Q&A.

Date: Monday 7th December 2020

Time: 12:00pm – 2:00pm AWST

3:00pm – 5:00pm AEDT

2:30pm – 4:30pm ACST

2:00pm – 4:00pm AEST

Digital Tech Talk: Online

Cost:

AusIMM Member: Free

Non-Member: $20.00

Register Now

Please note: Registrants who cannot join the webinar at the scheduled time will receive a link to the recording to watch at a later time convenient to them.

Talk Overview

There have been several papers published relating to commissioning management, however most of these are written from the Contractor’s perspective and generally focusing on the post build. Ed’s presentation will focus on the Owner and Operations Group role in the stage gated studies, planning and start-up of process facilities. Ed will provide case studies’ examples on what can happen and how to plan to avoid the unexpected. There will be a number of video clips with actual footage of events that were ‘unexpected’. This part of the presentation was pre-recorded to ensure that streaming is not impacted by bandwidth to provide you with optimal audio and video.

 

About the Speaker

Ed Dawson has 47 years of experience in plant operations, engineering studies, plant design, commissioning and consulting.

After 15 years working in technical and managerial roles for mining companies processing nickel, tin, copper-lead-zinc and gold Ed worked for 10 years with CMPS and Signet Engineering where he gained experience with studies. Plant design and commissioning for numerous gold, base-metal flotation and Copper Leach-SX-EW projects.

In 2000 Ed established Dawson Metallurgical Services Pty Ltd.

In addition to lead study, process-design and consulting commissions, Ed has since managed the start-up of several significant mining projects including:

  • WMC Olympic Dam Optimisation 3 and Uranium EPE projects
  • Newcrest – Telfer Project
  • Centerra – Boroo Gold Mine – Northern Mongolia
  • Iluka – Murray Basin Stage 2 – Kulwin Mine
  • Outotec-BHP Olympic Dam – Slag Flotation Project

Related News

18.11.20

South West WA Branch/Metallurgical Society – December Digital Technical Masterclass – Commissioning Doesn’t Start When the Plant is Built

The presentation will provide case study exam...

11.11.20

Reminder: South West WA Branch - AGM and Social Networking Lunch Event

Join the South West WA Branch on Saturday 21st November for a relaxed Social Networking Lunch Event with a celebration...

08.11.20

Last Day to Nominate: South West WA Branch - Call for Committee Nominations and AGM Reminder

Dear South West WA members,